Ready Player One

I’m so glad I read Janyaa’s review of Ready Player One. There is no way an avid gamer with even the slightest interest in sci-fi can read that review and NOT be compelled to read the book.

Having read that review my expectations were extremely high, and I’m happy to say I was not disappointed in the slightest.

Ernest Cline certainly has a talent for story telling. As his first novel, Ready Player One is quite impressive. Early on I felt like it was a little slow, but I quickly came to appreciate all the little details that immerse you in the world he created, and by the end I was happy with the pace and the amount of detail. Even the little things that help paint a picture of the world.

By now I’m assuming you’ve read Janyaa’s review, because you should, and because I can’t do the book the same justice. So I won’t go into great detail of the plot, because you should have read her review by now, but I will say that as a gamer I absolutely loved the world created in this book, and especially the OASIS. All the gaming references, the combat, the weapons, items, planets. The hunting of kobolds to level up reminded me of playing Ragnarok Online. The space ships and travel between planets reminded me of Entropia Universe, a game where in game money and USD were interchangeable. Where you bought clothes, weapons, gear, even space ships. You could rent out flights, and literally make money in this game by selling goods and services. I really appreciated that aspect of the OASIS, because believe it or not, that actually is based on current trends in gaming. The real money auction houses in games like Diablo 3 for example.

So as a gamer who’s played a dozen games that all come together to remind me of the OASIS, I was fascinated by this book the entire time. I really enjoyed the level of immersion in the OASIS and thought it was masterfully created. And that’s not even to mention the actual plot of the book, and the exciting hunt for the egg.

I loved this book and I would recommend it to anyone with even the slightest interest in sci-fi, but especially to any gamer.

If there was one thing that annoyed me though it was the character Art3mis. HOVER OVER FOR SPOILER 
I almost feel like it’s an injustice to have anything negative to say. I don’t want to give the impression that this book is lacking in any way, or that it’s not absolutely fantastic and worth reading, because it is.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Book Reviews

2 Comments on “Ready Player One”

  1. Janyaa Says:

    Yay! I’m so, so happy the book lived up to your expectation. I would have felt bad if I recommended a book you ended up not liking.

    I hadn’t thought about the tie-in with currency and modern gaming. That’s another great example of how the lines between reality and virtual reality are getting blurred. I can see how eventually we’ll all be living in a cashless society with the same transactions representing both realms equally.

    I actually liked Art3mis. I though that she would naturally be a bit insecure and defensive, and it made sense that her actions would reflect that. You could tell she was an extremely intelligent and caring person, but just needed to be able to trust enough to open her emotional floodgates (if you will.)

    So, whatcha planning on reading next?

    • enpfhy Says:

      I know Art3mis got insecure when things got personal, and a bit too real, because while she was a badass, she was still insecure about some things. I just didn’t expect it to solve itself in 2 minutes. Still, a minor thing that probably only bothered me, in an otherwise fantastic story.

      I’m not sure what’s next on the list to read. I must have about 20 titles lined up. I couldn’t make up my mind so I just put four on my tablet (for reading in bed). I don’t like to keep it loaded up with books and have to navigate through them all. So I like to just add a couple at a time, read them, and then remove them. So I added Hatchet, Let the Right One In, The Forever War, and The Stranger.

      I only have a general grasp of The Forever War, and Let the Right One In. The other two I have no idea what they’re about, but they came highly recommended, so they’ll all get read sooner or later.

      If you’ve read any of them perhaps you could help me make the tough decision 😀


Leave a Reply

